Committee on Science and Technology
Click to view Printer-Friendly formatted page. Printer-Friendly  |  Font Size: A A A
Popular Tags:: EISA:  

Press Releases :: December 6, 2007

Gordon: Energy Bill Will Put U.S. on Path to a More Secure Future

(Washington, DC) House Committee on Science and Technology Chairman Bart Gordon (D-TN) issued the following statement today regarding passage of the Energy Independence and Security Act by the U.S. House:

“I’m proud of the Science and Technology Committee’s contribution to this energy package. Over the past year, we have worked hard to clear fourteen bipartisan, consensus-driven energy and environment research bills through Committee. Nine of our bills are included in the House package passed today. This package represents the hard work of many of our committee members, including Reps. Giffords, McNerney, Matheson, Udall, Hooley, and Lipinski.”

“For too long we have depended on a handful of finite energy resources to power our economy. Our future lies in our ability to develop a wide range of energy technologies that use clean natural resources from the sun, the ocean, and the earth; boost the energy efficiency of our vehicles, buildings, and heavy industries; and capture and store carbon dioxide from coal-fired power plants.”

“The nations of the world have begun in Bali this week to define the steps needed to address the challenge of climate change. This energy package includes the R&D into new technologies that will help ensure our country can reduce CO2 emissions and become more energy independent."

The Committee legislation included in the House package is listed below:

HR 1933 – The Carbon Capture and Storage Research, Development and Demonstration Act of 2007 (Rep. Mark Udall, D-CO)

HR 2229 – The United States-Israel Energy Cooperation Act (Chairman Gordon)

HR 2304 – The Advanced Geothermal Energy Research and Development Act of 2007 (Rep. Jerry McNerney, D-CA)

HR 2313 – The Marine Renewable Energy Research and Development Act of 2007 (Rep. Darlene Hooley, D-OR)

HR 2773 – The Biofuels Research and Development Enhancement Act (Rep. Nick Lampson, D-TX)

HR 2774 – The Solar Energy Research and Advancement Act of 2007 (Rep. Gabrielle Giffords, D-AZ)

HR 3775 – The Industrial Energy Efficiency Research and Development Act of 2007 (Rep. Lampson)

HR 3776 – The Energy Storage Technology Advancement Act of 2007 (Chairman Gordon)

HR 632 – The H-Prize Act of 2007 (Rep. Dan Lipinski, D-IL)



News from the House Science and Technology Committee
2321 Rayburn House Office Building | Washington, DC 20515
tel: (202) 225-6375 | fax: (202) 225-3895 | Contact us Online

Bart Gordon, Chairman


Subcommittee Quick Links
[technology]  [energy]  [oversight]  [research]  [space]

technology and innovation

energy and environment

Investigations and Oversight

research and science education

space and aeronautics

Last Updated