Committee on Science and Technology
Click to view Printer-Friendly formatted page. Printer-Friendly  |  Font Size: A A A
Popular Tags:: America COMPETES Act:  

Press Releases :: June 10, 2010

Gordon Comments on Report Released by the American Energy Innovation Council

(Washington, DC) – Today, the American Energy Innovation Council (AEIC) released their detailed recommendations to Congress and the President to revolutionize U.S. energy innovation. The report outlines fundamental changes in U.S. energy innovation to increase American economic competitiveness, diversify our energy sources, and produce more abundant, clean, low-cost energy.

This report recommends a dramatic increase in federal investments for energy research and technologies and strongly parallels the America COMPETES Reauthorization Act. COMPETES invests in research and development of transformational energy technologies and manufacturing efficiency to help advance the U.S.’s transition to a clean energy economy.  COMPETES passed the House of Representatives on May 28th and now moves to the Senate for further action.
“As we move to a cleaner, more efficient and more balanced energy portfolio, we should not trade our dependence on foreign oil for a dependence on foreign technology. COMPETES will advance the development of new energy technologies by reauthorizing the groundbreaking Advanced Research Projects Agency - Energy which is pursuing high-risk, high-reward energy technology development,” said Chairman Bart Gordon (D-TN).
The recommendation to create Centers of Excellence is embodied in COMPETES through authorization of Energy Innovation Hubs, Regional Innovation Clusters, and Energy Frontier Research Centers. Furthermore, the recommendation for a New Energy Challenge Program strongly reflects the Clean Energy Deployment Administration (CEDA) proposed in both House and Senate climate and energy bills.
“I look forward to working with the Council as we continue to craft legislation that implements the bold proposals outlined in today’s plan,” said Gordon.
The Council is chaired by former DuPont CEO Charles Holliday, and along with Bill Gates and Jeff Immelt, the group includes former Lockheed Martin Chairman Norm Augustine, Xerox CEO Ursula Burns, Kleiner Perkins Partner John Doerr and Cummins Chairman Tim Solso.  AEIC is co-staffed and supported by ClimateWorks Foundation and the Bipartisan Policy Center.
For more information, please visit the Committee’s website.

News from the House Science and Technology Committee
2321 Rayburn House Office Building | Washington, DC 20515
tel: (202) 225-6375 | fax: (202) 225-3895 | Contact us Online

Bart Gordon, Chairman


Subcommittee Quick Links
[technology]  [energy]  [oversight]  [research]  [space]

technology and innovation

energy and environment

Investigations and Oversight

research and science education

space and aeronautics

The 112TH CONGRESS (2011-2012) The Library of Congress: THOMAS


Science Education and You

CMF Platinum Mouse Award for the 111th Congress
Last Updated