Committee on Science and Technology
Click to view Printer-Friendly formatted page. Printer-Friendly  |  Font Size: A A A
Popular Tags:: NASA:  

Letters From the Committee :: October 8, 2010

Letter to Senate Appropriators regarding NASA Authorization

October 8, 2010    



S-128 Capitol                                                                S-128 Capitol


Washington, DC 20510                                                 Washington, DC 20515









            Last week the House passed S. 3729, the NASA Authorization Act of 2010. Consideration of the Senate bill, and subsequent passage, was necessary to help provide a degree of certainty, stability, and clarity for our nation’s space program, the NASA workforce, and the NASA communities across the country.  However, over the past two months, discussions have been on-going between the House and Senate on development of a compromise NASA Authorization bill that would incorporate the best of the Senate-passed bill and the bill reported by the Committee on Science and Technology on July 22. Last week, we put forward a compromise which we believe met this test. Though every effort was made to secure support for this legislation in both chambers of Congress, an effort to provide for expedited consideration by the Senate of this compromise was unsuccessful. 

  Read the complete letter >>  

Dear Chairman Inouye, Ranking Member Cochran, Chairwoman Mikulski, Ranking Member Shelby:

Washington, DC 20510                                                 Washington, DC 20510

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science               Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science
SD-142                                                                         SD-142 

Chairwoman                                                                  Ranking Member 

The Hon. Barbara A. Mikulski                                         The Hon. Richard C. Shelby 

Committee on Appropriations                                        Committee on Appropriations

Chairman                                                                      Ranking Member 

The Hon. Daniel K. Inouye                                              The Hon. Thad Cochran 

News from the House Science and Technology Committee
2321 Rayburn House Office Building | Washington, DC 20515
tel: (202) 225-6375 | fax: (202) 225-3895 | Contact us Online

Bart Gordon, Chairman


Subcommittee Quick Links
[technology]  [energy]  [oversight]  [research]  [space]

technology and innovation

energy and environment

Investigations and Oversight

research and science education

space and aeronautics

Related Content

Related Letter(s) From the Committee:

The 112TH CONGRESS (2011-2012) The Library of Congress: THOMAS


Science Education and You

CMF Platinum Mouse Award for the 111th Congress
Last Updated