Committee on Science and Technology
Click to view Printer-Friendly formatted page. Printer-Friendly  |  Font Size: A A A

Press Releases :: January 25, 2011

Subcommittee Ranking Members Named

(Washington, DC) – Today the Democratic Caucus of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology met to elect Subcommittee Ranking Members and select Subcommittee assignments.  The selections will be official after they are approved by the full Committee at the Organizational Meeting.

 “This Committee deals with a host of issues that are central to America’s future competitiveness and well-being of our citizens, including but not limited to math and science education, energy R&D, space exploration and aviation, innovative technologies, and climate research.  We have assembled a strong team, and I look forward to working with them and our colleagues across the aisle in the 112th Congress,” said Ranking Member Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX).

Rep. Brad Miller (D-NC) was elected Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Energy and Environment.

 “Alternative energy sources and energy efficient technologies will define the world’s economy for the next generation and more,” said Congressman Brad Miller (D-NC).  “Despite the enormous advantage our research universities give us we are falling woefully behind.  I will work to protect the research that promises to make us energy independent.”

 Members of the Subcommittee include::

  • Rep. Lynn Woolsey (D-CA)
  • Rep. Ben Luján (D-NM)
  • Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY)
  • Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
  • Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA)

 Rep. Gabrielle Giffords (D-AZ) was elected Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics.

 Congresswoman Giffords (D-AZ)  has been a stalwart in working to sustain and enhance the nation’s civil space and aeronautics programs.  I fully expect her to continue her strong leadership on those issues when she returns to Congress.  In the meantime, I have asked my good friend and colleague, Rep. Jerry Costello (D-IL), to serve as Acting Ranking Member during her absence. He has agreed, and I greatly appreciate his willingness to help out during this challenging period,” said Ranking Member Johnson.

Members of the Subcommittee include:

  • Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-OH)
  • Rep. Jerry Costello (D-IL)
  • Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL)
  • Rep. David Wu (D-OR)
  • Rep. Donna Edwards (D-MD)
  • Rep. Frederica Wilson (D-FL)

 Rep. Daniel Lipinski (D-IL) was elected Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Research and Science Education.

 “Last Congress ended with the great success of passing the America COMPETES Act which I helped write to provide critical investments in science education, innovative research, and manufacturing”, said Congressman Dan Lipinski (D-IL).  As Ranking Member I will make sure we don't turn back on that commitment and we continue to focus on the STEM education and research and development investments we need to have the world's best higher education system and a globally competitive economy and manufacturing sector. My goal is to help ensure that American workers remain the most highly skilled, productive, and innovative in the world.”

 Members of the Subcommittee include:

  • Rep. Hansen Clarke (D-MI)
  • Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY)
  • Rep. John Sarbanes (D-MD)
  • Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL)

 Rep. David Wu (D-OR) was elected Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Technology and Innovation.

 “Technology and innovation are the building blocks of our economy and will continue to be the driving force of our nation’s growth,” said Congressman David Wu (D-OR). As we begin to set a legislative agenda for the 112th Congress, I look forward to carrying on the Science Committee’s history of bipartisanship by working with Chairman Quayle (R-AZ) to strengthen our nation’s competitiveness, technology, standards, and innovation.”

 Members of the Subcommittee include:

  • Rep. John Sarbanes (D-MD)
  • Rep. Frederica Wilson (D-FL)
  •  Rep. Dan Lipinski (D-IL)
  • Rep. Gabrielle Giffords (D-AZ)
  • Rep. Ben Luján (D-NM)

 Rep. Edwards (D-MD) was elected Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight.

 “I am grateful for the opportunity to serve as Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight,” said Congresswoman Donna F. Edwards (D-MD).   “The I and O Subcommittee has jurisdiction over numerous federal agencies critical to the nation’s energy, safety, and competitiveness, including several in Maryland’s 4th Congressional District. I will be aggressive in upholding the accountability, integrity, and important work of the nation’s scientific institutions. I look forward to working with Subcommittee Chairman Paul Broun (R-GA) and my colleagues on the Science, Space and Technology Committee in the 112th Congress.”

 Members of the Subcommittee include:

  • Rep.  Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
  • Rep.  Brad Miller (D-NC)
  • Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA)

Committee Members were officially assigned to the Committee when H.Res. 39 passed the House on January 19, 2011.  Subcommittee Ranking Members and assignments are made based on Members’ preferences, in order of seniority as assigned by the Steering and Policy Committee, as space allows, and following the procedure laid out in the Caucus rules.




News from the House Science and Technology Committee
2321 Rayburn House Office Building | Washington, DC 20515
tel: (202) 225-6375 | fax: (202) 225-3895 | Contact us Online

Bart Gordon, Chairman


Subcommittee Quick Links
[technology]  [energy]  [oversight]  [research]  [space]

technology and innovation

energy and environment

Investigations and Oversight

research and science education

space and aeronautics

The 112TH CONGRESS (2011-2012) The Library of Congress: THOMAS


Science Education and You

CMF Platinum Mouse Award for the 111th Congress
Last Updated